Mickey100's Blog

The inner workings of my mind

What Happened to the Dreams?

on September 1, 2014

What happened to the dreams, whimsical and wispy, imagined without a care in the world?
The little girl once had no worries or doubts, when the world was open and free and there were no obstacles in her way.
The path she walked on had no bumps or potholes. It followed a beautiful brook which sparkled as the sun kissed the blue water.
The meadows were open and filled with daisies, and the wildflowers bloomed with the desires and passions of the heart.
Life was a song to sing and dance to. Life was a stage from which to show the world the joy of the arts.
What happened to the dreams, whimsical and wispy, imagined without a care in the world?

But now the thorns of fear and insecurity spring up and choke the life of the wildflower, wringing out the stored up dreams and crushing the seeds of new visions. The path, once smooth, veers away from the crystal river and turns to a sharp, rocky, narrow path on an uphill climb.
What happened to the dreams, whimsical and wispy, imagined without a care in the world?

Where am I?
What do I want?
What am I doing?
What do I find joy in anymore?
These questions have been tainted by the fears, insecurities, and obstacles rising up through life.

A more relevant question though, is ‘Who am I?’.
Because no matter what I do or where I am, the who will always remain the same.
I am a child of the almighty God.
I am a daughter of the King of Kings.
I am fearfully and wonderfully made by my Creator.
I am loved and forgiven by the man who paid the full price for me.
I am saved by the ultimate hero.

“For even though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil for you are with me; Your rod and your staff they comfort me.” Psalm 23:4

Therefore, I find strength from the one who gives me life. He cleans out the impurities, allowing me to see beyond the obstacles that lie on the rocky path.
And although not all the questions are answered, this is for sure: He is God, he is faithful, and he holds me in the palm of his hand.

Dream on, child of God. Dream on.

Leave a Reply

